Indictments announced in Lockerbie bombing

On November 11, 1991, prosecutors from the United States and the United Kingdom announced their indictments in the bombing of a passenger airplane over Lockerbie, Scotland. A Scottish court convicted Abdelbaset Ali Mohmed Al Megrahi, allegedly a former Libyan intelligence official, of the 270 murders in 2001.

Read documents from the Lockerbie bombing trial.

Guiteau tried for assassinating President Garfield

On November 14, 1881, Charles Guiteau went on trial for the assassination of President James A. Garfield.

The trial of Guiteau, a probable paranoid, pointed up problems with nineteenth century law's treatment of insanity; Guiteau's trial is also problematic in retrospect as Garfield's death was immediately attributable not to Guiteau, but to Garfield's doctors who - before sterilization was well understood - repeated probed his wound with unwashed hands while searching for an embedded bullet.

See TDL for:

Latest Readers


Support JURIST

We rely on our readers to keep JURIST running

 Donate now!

© Copyright JURIST Legal News and Research Services, Inc., 2013.